Florida drivers that receive a traffic ticket can in most cases complete a DMV Approved traffic school course to avoid points on their drivers license. The Florida Department of Motor Vehicles approves all traffic school courses.
This section provides a list of traffic school courses approved online by the Florida DMV. For each online course is a link to an approved course.
When registering for a Florida Traffic School course you will need enter your name, address, drivers license number, citation number, and the county where you received your ticket. All this information should appear on the Traffic School Certificate of Completion you receive.
Certificate of Completion: As soon as you receive your Certificate for completing the course you need to turn it into the Clerk of Court Traffic Division in the county that issued you the ticket to avoid points being added to your license. If the course is required by a Judge Order or Court Order then immediately turn in your Certificate to the supplied address.
Completion Deadlines: If you miss the deadline to complete the course or you do not turn in your Certificate of Completion then your license may get suspended. Be sure to know what your deadline is to complete the course and turn in your Certificate.
Shortcut: Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) DMV Approved Online Course - $27.39
Drivers that receive a speeding ticket or moving violation can take a Florida online traffic school course once in a 12 month period and 5 times in their life. The DMV requires you spend a minimum of 4 hours in the course.
To get credit for completing this course you must submit your Certificate of Completion to the Clerk of Court Traffic Division in the county where you received the ticket. The traffic school provider will send you a traffic school certificate upon completion of the course.
Shortcut: 8 Hour Intermediate Driver Improvement Online Course - $60.00
Florida 8 hour traffic school is usually taken because a judge or court orders you to take an 8 hour Intermediate Driver Improvement course.
Some Florida counties allow drivers to take this 8 hour Traffic School course if they have already taken a 4 hour traffic school course in the last 12 months. Please check the county that issued you the most recent ticket to see if they allow the 8-hour Intermediate Traffic School course to avoid points on your drivers license for a second ticket.
Florida drivers license holders who are age 55 or older qualify for a mandatory discount on their auto insurance of 10% a year for 3 years if you complete the Florida Auto Insurance Discount Course.
The typical savings for completing the mature driver insurance discount course is $100 a year for three years for a total of $300.
We recommend you check with your auto insurance company before completing this six hour course. Some auto insurance companies allow discounts starting at age 50.
Shortcut:ADI 12 Hour Course - $89.00
The 12-hour traffic school also know as ADI (Advanced Driver Improvement) is taken for excessive points on a drivers license.
License suspensions - If your license has been suspended for other reasons a judge or court may require you to complete the 12-hour ADI course.
Hardship License - As soon as you register for the 12 hour ADI course and receive your Enrollment Letter you can then apply for a Hardship License which allows you to drive for business purposes only during your suspension period.